Week 5 Reflection

During this course I have learned that digital citizenship is according to Ribble (2015) is digital citizenship as “the norms of appropriate, responsible technology use.” After the knowledge that I have gained in this course I believe that digital citizenship means that means that you are establishing specific norms in detail according to the nine the elements of digital citizenship in order to make sure that safe practices are in place while engaging with digital tools. My biggest accomplishment in this course was navigating through the case studies as if I was the Chief Technology officer. It was difficult to make sure that I was making the right decisions based on the research and best practices. It was a very necessary task because it allowed me really put myself in those situations in order to find a solution. While taking this course I found it extremely difficult to balance my home life, working full time and completing as many assignments as we had in week during this course. I lost a lot of sleep and really have to make it up to my kids for my lack of attentiveness these past five weeks. I feel like my best work was the presentation I did on the evolution of music technology. It was fun to see how music has evolved with the devices and the way that we access music. Technology is constantly evolving so it was interesting to see the short time period where things changed drastically. I feel like the knowledge that I have gained during this class helps me to be more detailed when teaching my students about digital citizenship. It makes me want to be more intentional to with the lessons to make sure that I am making practical connections that build character. The most useful thing that I learned in this course is to make sure that I teach my students character development skills so that they have empathy when engaging in social media. I think it’s extremely important to nurture our students into positive interaction while using digital tools and social media. I think it will be useful as a digital leader to make sure that I build a matrix for technology usage and make sure the matrix is composed around all nine elements of digital citizenship. My favorite aspect of this course was the feeling of accomplishment everytime I completed all of my many assignments each week. Although it was rough finding the time to complete all of the assignments it was a great feeling once I was finally able to press the submit button every week. If I could give suggestion to anyone taking this course I would tell them be prepared to work and develop a daily task list of completing the assignments. Its important to have good time management and organization skills in order to not get too overwhelmed.  I think I would change the five page reflection essay. I feel like this since this is a technology class the structure should be more like our other technology classes with voice, choice, and implementing the COVA model. If I could speak to my friends about this course I would tell them to just brace yourself. Its hard and you may get pushed beyond your limits but the information that was learned is invaluable.

Ribble, M. (2015). Digital Citizenship Consulting – Education, Technology Support. Retrieved from http://www.digitalcitizenship.net/